Designing your space

Home Decor, Uncategorized

I have a deep passion for home decor and styling.

I love the challenge of making a space fit a personality and love the hunt of finding the right items to fill the space.

I thought I would share a few tips on how I design and Style a room with you.

The living room is one of the main areas of our home and can be a grounding place to spend time together which is why I wanted to share with you some of my favourite Living room pieces.

When I start designing a room I envision and try to put myself in a space. I want to imagine how I want to feel in that space, or how I will use it. I think of what type of activities, who will use the space the most, etc. That helps me choose the items to fill the space.

For me being a mom to a toddler my choices have to revolve a bit around that, however I do love to keep my style and what I enjoy too. When selecting pieces for a room I always start with the bigger ticket items. For a living room, choose your couch first, area rug, and maybe any pieces of bigger furniture, coffee table, tv stand, side tables, etc. Then once those items are selected you can go into details, selecting pillows, throw blankets, light fixtures, lamps, decor touches.

A good way of integrating patterns or mixing patterns which is a big trend right now is to make a colour board. Select the colours you want to see in the room and go from there. You can also pull a lot of inspiration from online, you want to limit the amount of colour in a room to 4-5 colours, unless your going for a more bohemian or eclectic look. Which is also beautiful and a look I love.

For this particular room inspiration I wanted a space that was warm and cosy and also a touch of glam. The glam comes from the touched of gold details the warm comes from the wood and pillows.

I hope you feel inspired by this room and found some of these tips helpful.

To book an appointment or get a free quote on our services send us an email today.

Jennamontroy@hotmail.com 


Leave a Reply

