FIND YOUR TRIBE & LOVE THEM HARD ! 

Trips, Uncategorized

This weekend I was fortunate enough to get away with two amazing people. Two people that I adore and think the world of. I’m so thankful for their friendship and uniqueness and how much they add to my life. 

As I get older I value my friendships that much more. Life gets crazy and everyday obligations always put a damper on time we use to take for granted when we were young. This weekend I was so beyond thankful to have time to just unplug and enjoy relaxing and having girl time. Something that comes very few and far between now being married and having kids. I use to feel guilty about taking time away and feel like I was being selfish if I took time to go away or do something for me and now I reliese it actually makes me a better mom and wife if I take time for me. I end up appreciating my life and my little family more and I become a better version of me when I get “me” time. 

I don’t know if it’s just me or if a lot of people feel this way, but as we get older we get super selective as to who we choose to spend our time with maybe because it feels like there are less hours in the day or because through seasons in life we also change. Interests change, expectations change, and priorities change and that probably contributes to me feeling the way I do. Through the years I have lost old friendships and have gained new relationships and through those changes i notice how I’ve even changed. Not meaning to sound selfish but I need more out of my friendships. I need that friend to be loyal. I need that friend to be honest. I need that friend to be patient. I need that friend to be understanding and compassionate. I need things I didn’t when I was younger. My friendships now mean more to me than they ever have and I wouldn’t change that for the world. 

These two girls are just those things. They are the friends that would be there in good times and bad. They have qualities I wish I had myself. I respect them and cherish them. They support and value me for me, and for that I’m forever thankful. I don’t have to be someone else or pretend I can just be the true me. What an amazing blessing to have that. I’m a strong believer in when you put a energy out into the world that’s the same that’s going to return back to you. I’m sure you have heard the saying “YOUR VIBE ATTRACTS YOUR TRIBE” truer words have never been spoken. That’s so very true and I’m a living example of that. 

When I first had Harlow I became a hermit I didn’t know who I was or where I belonged. I lost that sense of self because I was so worried about being present in her life and being the best mom I could that I closed myself off to everything. Friendships crumbled and I was left feeling alone. Something I’ve never experienced before. I was always social and had a great circle of friends even when I moved across the country and had to start completely over, I was able to make a new small circle. 

This was new for me and it was such an empty feeling. I needed to have that TRIBE I could count on. To share my secrets with and that shoulder to cry on or belly laugh with. I’m fortunate because these two are just that for me. 

We took a quick trip up to Hedley, B.C to spend some time just relaxing….. Ok and drinking. But really had a great time just laughing, sharing stories and enjoying each other’s company. 

Make time for you ! 

Be that friend everyone wants to be around ! 

Find your tribe and love them hard ! 

XOXO

Jenna

 

Leave a Reply

